Kumihimo Anyone??

My thoughts have turned to Kumihimo.  I know many are familiar with the process.  It’s an ancient Japanese weaving technique, usually using silk threads for beautiful, colorful patterned cords.  It’s become more popular lately as simple kits have been developed to do them on a card-like thread organizer.  I prefer the traditional way, on a marudai.  The first photo is an example of one just like mine.

Here’s how these beautiful cords happen:

  • The threads are separated and straightened and untangled, then wound on spools.
  • The center is weighted with the weights hanging through the round marudai, as seen in the example photo.
  • The spooled threads are lifted by the threads and placed according to the pattern.
  • As they move around the marudai, they create the weave, which extends through the center of the stand.
I’ll talk a little about finishing next time.
Of course, you do not have to use silk threads.  I’ve used ribbons, yarns and more.  I’ve created a gallery of my work below for examples.  If I can help anyone get started in this wonderful creative process, please let me know.  And thanks for stopping by.
5 thoughts on “Kumihimo Anyone??

  1. I’ve wanted to try kumihimo for years! I should see if I can find a good marudai, or at least find out how I can make one so that I can start learning how to make these beautiful cords I keep seeing everywhere!

    • Ria: It’s funny you should say that. I’m planning to sell mine. It’s the finest one made, comes with the spools, weights and canvas protective case. I would also throw in my collection of silk and any ribbons that I have left, and a couple of books. If you’re interested, let me know.

      My husband has stage IV brain cancer, and frankly, I’m not planning to make more kumis. I haven’t made any in a while. I have a bad shoulder that makes it a little bit of a strain. So all in all, I’m going to let it go.

Leave a Reply

